BESTY COASTYY!

Issi


Hello, Cats on Toast readers. I am writing to you from a self-imposed (and snowy) pit of despair.

You may remember I wrote a post bemoaning my abundance of essays (https://catsontoast.wordpress.com/2010/11/23/my-face-when/ ) …well, I still haven’t done them. I’ve tried, and I’ve done a little, but then I’ve got distracted. Or procrastinated. (the list of things I have done this week as procrastination includes: baking cakes; cleaning my room; doing all the washing from under my bed; unblocking the kitchen sink; writing this blog)

For some reason I am hitting essay writer’s block. As I’m sitting here, I am swigging from a bottle of wine (Sainsburys own brand dry white wine, top notch) and inhaling the fumes from my big ‘Cleansing and Stimulating‘ aromatherapy candle, trying to get my head in order. Doing this I feel a bit like a proper bohemian writer person. I quite like it.

So anyway, myself and Agnese along with my lovely housemate Kelly, went to see kitty-tastic Best Coast last night.

Apart from having one of the cutest album covers I’ve seen in…well, ever, (featuring Snacks the cat!) they have made some gorgeous surfy, bittersweet pop songs, which I have been singing along to around the house for weeks.

This is my favourite song of theirs, Boyfriend (‘I wish he was my boyfrieeeeeend…I’d love him to the very end but instead he’s just a friend’) Think lovesick teen yearning. You will be singing it around your house too.

They played at the Scala, with Spectrals opening for them. I enjoyed Spectrals set. They reminded me a bit of a young Ash, but as heard through a distorted dream-haze; with shades of Badly Drawn Boy thrown in too. They played well and made  pleasant noise, but were not hugely exciting. They did however seem very young (in reality probably my age) and I think have potential to get a lot better. We chatted to them briefly after the gig (mainly in the hope of setting up one of our party with the hot keyboard player – unfortunately not visible in my picture!) and they seemed friendly chaps.

Above is one of my photos from the gig, and here is a really pretty video for their song, Peppermint.

We were all really excited for Best Coast, especially as like myself and Kelly, Bethany from Best Coast is GLUTEN-FREE!! (for those of you who don’t know what this is, Google ‘Coeliac Disease’!) She is our gluten-free idol. We tried to do a gluten-free shout out to her in a quiet moment during the gig…she did not acknowledge us and it was excruciatingly failsome. But anyway, she was a very cool front-woman, with a great voice and style, and the band played all our favourite songs; Boyfriend, Crazy for You, When I’m With You etc.

While they played well together and it was nice to hear the songs live, unfortunately for me they didn’t quite live up to my expectations. They didn’t have that spark of something really special, and after a while their songs all started to sound the same, and I found myself thinking of shopping lists.

I think I would give the gig as a whole 6.5/10. I was hoping it would be more of an 8/10! But there you go. I still really enjoy their album, and it’s WELL cheap at the moment on the Wichita records website (£5 in the Christmas sale!) so maybe a nice Christmas present for someone / yourself.

A bunch of other stuff happened that night, including us finding the ACTUAL Platform 9 and 3/4s from  Harry Potter (pictures to possibly follow?!) and unfortunately also a threatening nutter on the tube and a scary guy mugging Kelly as we were walking home in New Cross. I’d like to take this opportunity to send out a massive FUCK YOU to that guy. And I hope whatever he bought with KELLY’S money injured or caused him pain in some way.

Anyway this has turned into a mammoth blog post. I think the word count is higher than for any of my essays, LOL.

TTFN, love Issi xxx

 

 

Leave a Reply

